Donate a Library | Bord Gáis Energy Book Club

Donate a Library

Bord Gáis Energy Donate a Library5Are you involved in a local charity or community group that you think would benefit from the enjoyment that books bring?  If so, Donate a Library is your chance to share your love of books and reading with a cause that’s important to you.

Simply nominate to donate and your local community, voluntary or charitable organisation could receive a library worth €1,500.

2015 marked the fourth year of Donate a Library and saw the twentieth library donated since the programme began, with recipients from all over Ireland including aged care facilities, schools, parish centres and support groups.

Our ambassador, mother of two and long-time charity campaigner, Lisa Duffy said, “Sharing a love of books and reading with people of all ages is a wonderful thing to be able to do.  Charities and voluntary organisations have to focus their limited resources on so many things, something as simple as a library often gets overlooked.  The Donate a Library programme is a really helpful and easy way to bring hours of entertainment to many”.

So how does it work?

All you have to do is nominate your chosen organisation by completing a simple form. The judging panel consists of charity advocacy group The Wheel, Sinead Desmond from the Ireland AM bookclub, Claire Smith from Bord Gáis Energy and Donate a Library ambassador Lisa Duffy.

2015-2016 Donate a Library nominations are now closed. See all of this year’s winners in our gallery below.

Most Recent Winner

Cuan Cancer Social Support and Wellness Group

CUAN is a social support and wellness group for anyone in Cavan and surrounding environs who has experienced a cancer diagnosis, and their families. The focus is on wellbeing, emotional support and information. This year CUAN is planning to expand services for families through the CLIMB programme designed especially for…

…read more

Judging Panel

  • Sinead Desmond

    Presenter and Host of the Bord Gáis Energy Book Club on Ireland AM

  • Gert Ackermann

    Communications Officer, The Wheel

  • Claire Smith

    Consumer PR Manager